Are you a Rat?

There is an strong wind of anxiety in all my sections. Essays, Readings, postings, and administrative jerk-a-rounds tend to obscure the end goal. In fact is does seem like we are “rats in a maze.” (I looked and could not find a source. I used to know this but I can’t remember right now). The cheese is at the end and we all run frantically, but who get it and when. Obstacles of TPAs, podcasts, and schedule changes keep popping up and confounding us all.

I lamented to my wife that it is difficult to be the first. We’re the first to get TPAs, we certainly seem like lab rats. The early bird may get the worm, but it’s the second mouse that gets the cheese. She agreed stating it’s usually the first lab rats that die, the latter ones gets get the cure and make it. It seemed true. It would be so easy to point to some amorphous bureaucracy as the reason for failing or getting discouraged.

I know I’m a rat, I also know that regardless of what is thrown up before me, I’ll get the cheese!

One thought on “Are you a Rat?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *