Ear Hustling Part 1?

As a teacher if I listen surreptitiously (ear hustle), I can learn things about my students, our school, and my practice.   This is what I heard this week:

  1. “I had so much trouble at my old school.  I did everything I could.  I went in one time after school to my teacher’s office hours and she got mad at me for not understanding.  Around that time I got involved with parker park group…you know that bunch of stoners with ________.  I stopped going to school.  I felt like all my teachers just gave up on me.  However here, I feel like my teachers care.  I feel more in control. I feel like I’m working towards something.  My attendance is almost perfect, and I’m on honor roll.  I hated it over there, even walking down the halls I felt so much anxiety.  I had a really bad experience.  I hate high school and just want it to finish.”
  2. “This is the best field trip I’ve ever been on.  Most of the time the teachers are so….I don’t know how to describe it, but they are so on us.  Here I feel free to explore on my own.  It’s also nice that this is a small group.”
  3. “I’m here because of my sophomore year.  I got caught up and in between all this stuff…so much drama.  Then my friend introduced me to …you know….weed.  But over here the teachers are so much more chill and willing to work with us.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *